clock menu more-arrow no yes

Two Senators on Wednesday announced their departure from their old political parties to another party ahead of the 2023 general election.

Francis Ezenwa Onyewusi, who represents the Bauchi Central Senatorial District, and Haliru Dauda Jika, who represents the Imo East Senatorial District are the senators.

The Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, announced their defection during a session on Wednesday.

Unlike his counterpart in Bauchi, who was a member of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) before defecting to the New Nigeria Peoples Party, senator Francis Onyewusi, a first-time senator, was a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) before joining the Labor Party (LP) (NNPP).

Senators who left their political parties cited unfairness and inequality as reasons for their failure.

Do you find Xclusivesongs useful? Click here to give us five stars rating!

More On
Top Tags